July 13, 2024

Toyota Young Farmer of the Year Finals

On Thursday 16th November the Toyota Young Farmer Competition reached its climax when the National winner was announced. The glamorous event was held at the Raddison Hotel in Kempton Park.

This year Agri Eastern Cape was represented by Agri EC Deputy President, Eben du Plessis, Trade and Economics Manager, Günther Pretorius, and the Young Farmer Committee Chairman, James Miller who attended the event as the Representatives of Organised Agriculture in the Eastern Cape.

The Agri EC Delegates were joined at the awards evening by the Young Farmer Finalists and Eastern Cape Winner, Dian Landman and his wife, Diné.

Dian is a dairy farmers in the Tsisikamma area and a member of Agri Tsitsikamma-Oos Agricultural Association. Dian was announced as the Eastern Cape Young Farmer of the Year and finalist for the National Toyota Young Farmer of the Year Competition during the Agri Eastern Cape Congress held in August earlier this year.

The awards ceremony was a glamourous event that acknowledged and awarded young farmers from various walks of life and development levels. with the evening Culminating in the awarding of the coveted title of the Toyota Young Farmer of the Year!

Competition judges made it very clear that the competitors were of an extremely high calibre this year, and the points were close between the top candidates.

The winner was announced as Jimie Malan from Agri Gauteng. Agri Eastern Cape would like to extend our congratulations to Jimie and Agri Gauteng for this achievement!

Agri Eastern Cape is also extremely proud of our finalist, Dian Landman, who was the perfect representation of the Eastern Cape Agricultural Sector and the young farmers of our province and country as a whole!

Dian, We know you will keep up all the hard work you have put in to get this far. Agri EC looks forward to working closely with Dian over the months to come within the Agri Eastern Cape Young Farmer Committee to inspire, support, and help develop the young farmers in the Eastern Cape.